Yoga | | Apr 13, 2021


ॐ Yama is one of the eight limbs of Raja Yoga of Patanjali outlined in the Yoga Sutras - one of the guidelines to a more ethical and wholesome life. Yama refers to the restraints one should have, to rules that one should not be transgressed, as they represent one’s character and sense of integrity according to their behaviour.

Ahimsa means non-violence.

Non-violence in all dimensions: verbal, physical and psychological.

It refers to what we say, what we do and what we think. Towards others and ourselves.

In my opinion, that includes violence towards animals, and being a conscious consumer so my actions don’t affect other people negatively. Hence my being vegan, my eco-friendly lifestyle. It refers to life as a whole.

It can also refer to the limits that we can reach in our yoga practice, in the different asanas. So during your practice try to go a little bit further, but always respecting the limits of your body. Our body is not symmetrical, so one side will do better than the other. And there can be days that we cannot go as far as others. Respect that.

Yoga is not to become physically flexible. Yoga is to find yourself, your true self and heal.

Namasté! 🙏

Ahimsa written by Joana Vieira

If you like my content feel free to buy me a coffee ☕️


The Wholly Newsletter

Sign-up to the Wholly Newsletter to get the latest blog posts, updates, news, offers, and more right to your inbox. Don't worry, I won't shower you with emails!

Learn More